Name is required.
Email address is required.
Invalid email address
Answer is required.
Exceeding max length of 5KB

How to Change User Setting?

Ko Feb 12, 2015 10:42AM PST

We would like to distinguish how to have "Read Only" users and "Edit" Users, as this does not seem to be an option, even when we go above 10 users in our Pro version. How do we distinguish who has what permissions, or set permissions to certain users?
Thank you.

Up 0 rated Down
Support Feb 12, 2015 12:49PM PST BatchGeo LLC Agent

Hi Ko,

Here is an article that discusses ways to share maps. If you want read only users, I might suggest using a “Password” protected map. That way, they don’t need a login. They just need the URL and the Password.

http://support.batchgeo.com/customer/portal/articles/1441588-how-do-i-keep-my-map-private-or-make-it-public-

After you have read the different save options, please let me know if you have further questions.

Thanks,
Tracy

Up -1 rated Down
Ko Feb 12, 2015 12:52PM PST
Hello. I was under the impression that we are only able to have up to 10 users with ability to create/edit maps. Is this not the case? I wanted to confirm for license purposes, as we are using this in a corporate setting, and do not want to have any issues come up because we had more than 10 users that have the ability to create/edit maps.
Thanks.
Up 0 rated Down
Support Feb 12, 2015 04:58PM PST BatchGeo LLC Agent

Hi Ko,

I did not mean to confuse the issue. BatchGeo Pro comes with 10 licensed users who can create an unlimited amount of maps. If you want more users, then you need to purchase those in 10 user license pack. 20 users is $178 per month and then $89 for each additional 10 pack.

I was suggesting for your “Read/View Only” users to use the “Password” map so that you wouldn’t use up your login users. But, some people do prefer using the login users to view maps, so it is just user preference.

Hopefully that makes sense.

Thanks,
Tracy

Up 0 rated Down
Ko Feb 13, 2015 06:07AM PST
Hi, Tracy.

I am asking because I have over 10 users registered, and yet there is no option to make certain users "read only" while others as "editors." We don't mind there being a lot of editors, but we do have more than 10 users with abilities to edit, so if your company is not managing it as a system (ie: when we reach 10 users, you block us from making more users until we pay extra) and we need to control our own number of users (ie: even though we have the ability to register more than 10 users, we are not supposed to register more than 10 users, and once we get to that state, we need to report to you), then we need to delete some users.

We had assumed that once we reached our "10 user limit," the new users will be added as users with "read only access," and that there will be some sort of block applied to adding new users as editors (and perhaps we would even be able to choose which users are given which permissions), as the product description was "Our Pro plan comes with 10 users with full access to create maps (and unlimited read-only access.)" As of now, our 11th user seems to have full access to create maps as well (though admittedly they did not save the map when he created one, so I do not know if it saves or not), and there are no indications in my user manager to figure out which users have the certain accesses and which don't.

Thank you.
Up 0 rated Down
Support Feb 13, 2015 08:17AM PST BatchGeo LLC Agent

Hi Ko,

Number of Pro users is currently on the honor system. All Pro Users have the exact same capabilites. We do have a report that show’s us who is over their limit of users and will reach out to them as needed. Or, if you go over 10, please email me and let me know. I’ll adjust your billing on the backend.

“Unlimited Read Only Access” = For all maps that you have created, we do not limit how many times that map can be viewed. Earlier I shared with you the different ways to save maps. Depending on how you save the map determines who can view the map. Let me know if you have questions about the different save options.

“My Subscription Users” = When you save a map this way, it is the only map that requires a Pro Login.

I hope this makes sense. If not, feel free to provide your phone number and we can discuss on the phone.

Thanks,
Tracy

Up 0 rated Down
Ko Feb 13, 2015 08:25AM PST
Thank you very much for the clarifications.

Most services that limit the number of users have an automatic block, so we were tyring to figure out how to distinguish between the "Read only users" and "editors" that we assumed would be created from the wording of the sentence, assuming that "read only access" meant "users" and not viewing access numbers.

Now that I understand that there are no such thing as "read only users," we will go ahead and delete the 11th user, as it is not necessary to up the bill.

Thank you for your assistance.
Up 0 rated Down
Ko Feb 13, 2015 08:33AM PST
Hi, Tracy.
Two more questions.

Can we add users by per-user rate? (Perhaps 2 users) The price hike is a bit much for us to consider, after conferring with the team, and we do not need 10 extra users.

Also, is the main administrator account considered as a "user," or is it 10 "child users"?

Thank you.
Up 0 rated Down
Ko Feb 13, 2015 08:35AM PST
If more convenient, please feel free to send me an e-mail at the e-mail address provided, as I do not feel comfortable posting phone number, etc. in such a public forum where I have not yet found an option to delete my posts. Thank you.
Up 0 rated Down
Support Feb 13, 2015 08:37AM PST BatchGeo LLC Agent

Hi Ko,

No, selling in 10 packs is all we have. 10 users includes the “administrator”, so in your “manage users” list, you will have 9 users in that list. So it would be 9 “child users”.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

Thanks,
Tracy

Post Your Public Answer

Your name (required)
Your email address (required)
Answer (required)
d8785c917e56b1b726cd4784c7d24b51@batchgeo.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete